Back home: Squero San Trovaso

23 Jul

Do you remember this place?

squero_7.22.14-2

The craft-worn hands with the remnants of hard work stuck underneath the fingernails.

squero_7.22.14-4The silver noses of the whale-like gondolas frying in the sun.

squero_7.22.14-7

The posed scrap wood pieces, outdated nudie calendars (garage standard), trinkets of travel, and stuff that’s floated to shore curiously placed around the shop. 

squero_7.22.14-1

squero_7.22.14-3

The tattoos on the bodies that mirror the carvings of the gondolas.squero_7.22.14-5

squero_7.22.14-12And most importantly, Claudio & Luca. squero_7.22.14-83 years ago (literally, to the DAY!) while in grad school, I started photographing at Squero San Trovaso for over a month. With some planning “fingers crossed” pieces, I returned to Squero yesterday, unsure if the guys had received all/any of the ways I had tried to reach out to them to ask if I could come visit once again.

I tried to creep up on Squero. I went up the canal on the other side to get a distant peek with the other tourists, and saw Luca. I had no idea if he or his brother would remember me, and if they did, if I’d be welcome to come spend time there again- if this was going to be a moment of disappointment or excitement. He saw me and stopped what he was doing. He just stood there with no expression. I stood frozen, trying to read his face from across the canal. “Ciao Luca” I said quietly and waved. He smirked, then smiled wide, “Ciao Lisa!” and motioned me to cross the bridge. I cried. (duh). I was so happy. These guys have no clue what a gift they’ve given me in my life by allowing me into their space to let me play, document, meditate, create, watch and just be. I pulled myself together, and crossed over.

squero_7.22.14-13squero_7.22.14-14I walked in the back entrance to Squero, and the scents of fresh sawdust, sweet and sticky black lacquer, gasoline and salt immediately brought me back to the first time I walked in the Squero and they told me to get lost.  

Right then, Luca appeared with a big smile. He submitted to the big hug which I forced upon him. Claudio resurfaced later in the afternoon- small smile, and an even more reserved hug then his brother . When I returned in the afternoon light to photograph, they let me in as if no time had passed, returning to our old habits. Luca, constantly aware of the camera unless in a task that requires full concentration, and Claudio, not giving a shit what I did or where I was as long as I wasn’t in the way. I was so happy.

squero_7.22.14-6

squero_7.22.14-16squero_7.22.14-10squero_7.22.14-11

If you are still looking/ reading this journal entry then bless your heart. Thanks for your time, interest and help in remembering these moments I never want to forget. More to come soon. For real. (not like in 8 months).

❤ L

One Response to “Back home: Squero San Trovaso”

  1. Jim Indo July 23, 2014 at 3:38 pm #

    Loving this second time around Lisa. You change and brighten every world you grace. Thanx for post. Peace.

Leave a Reply

